Whether you switched to another streaming service or you simply don’t have a use for your Spotify account anymore, the good news is that you can easily delete your account, in just a few simple steps.
Just keep in mind that this process can’t be done on the mobile or desktop app; it has to go through a browser, regardless of the device you’re using.
Here’s how you can delete your Spotify account, as well as a few questions to help you decide whether it’s the right move to make:
Table of Contents
Should you delete your Spotify account?
When you completely close your account on Spotify, it will be entirely deleted, and you won’t have the option of restoring it later on. This means that your followers, playlists, and saved songs will be completely gone, and you won’t be able to use your current username again.
If you’re not ready to lose everything yet, you also have the option of only cancelling your Spotify Premium subscription. This will keep all of your saved data, and revert you to the free Spotify account. But even though you’ll still be able to use Spotify in this manner, you will have to deal with occasional ads and skipped songs or mixed playlists.
Deleting your Spotify account
If you’re ready to completely delete your Spotify account and all its saved data, however, then just follow the steps below:
- Open your preferred web browser, and then go to support.spotify.com/us/contact-spotify-support
- Here, select Account, and then choose I want to close my account.
- You can now read through the options, and then click CLOSE ACCOUNT if you truly want to delete your Spotify account.
- Click CLOSE ACCOUNT once more.
- Now, verify that you’re trying to delete the right account, and then press CONTINUE. This step is especially important in case you share a device with other people who might have been logged into their Spotify account.
- Once you’ve read the explanation, tick the box that indicates you understand and agree, and then click CONTINUE.
- A message will now appear prompting you to check your email inbox for a message from Spotify.
- When the email has arrived, read it, and then click CLOSE MY ACCOUNT.
- After the process is finished, you will see an All done message appear on the screen. Your Spotify account has now been successfully deleted.
What happens if you change your mind?
The reason Spotify makes the account deletion process so long and tedious is that this is an irreversible decision; they want to give you an opportunity to change your mind about canceling your account. However, you will have a short grace period.
If you end up changing your mind about deleting your account, you can undo the deletion process within seven days. After your account has been closed, Spotify will send a confirmation email, which also includes a reactivation link. In case you click that reactivation link within seven days of closing your account, you will have the option of restoring it.
However, after seven days have passed, your Spotify account will be permanently deleted. While you can still make a new account later on with the same email address, the data saved on your previous account can no longer be restored.
It’s also worth mentioning that if you had a Spotify Premium account with a student discount before deletion, you will need to wait a year before you can use it again.