How to Delete your Google Search Bar History

When you use Google Search, or any other Google apps and services, all that activity is stored and saved in your Google Account. If you want to view and delete this activity, you can easily do so in your account settings. However, it’s worth noting that the activity might be deleted from all devices, if sync is turned on.

If you still want to proceed, here’s how you can delete your search history, as well as any other activity, regardless of the device you’re using:

Desktop

When you’re on your computer, you can choose to delete either your entire activity history, or only certain items using your Google Account. Here’s how:

Deleting all activity

  1. In your preferred browser, go to your Google Account, and log in.
  2. On the left-hand side of the screen, click on Data & Personalization.
  3. Next, scroll until you find the Activity and Timeline section. Here, click on My Activity.
  4. A new page will now open, containing your search history and visited websites. At the top of this page, press More (three vertical lines).
  5. In the drop-down menu, click Delete activity by.
  6. A pop-up window will now appear. Choose Always to delete all activity.
  7. Finally, click Next, followed by Delete. Your entire activity will now be cleared.

Deleting specific activity items

  1. In your preferred browser, go to your Google Account, and log in.
  2. On the left-hand side of the screen, click on Data & Personalization.
  3. Next, scroll until you find the Activity and Timeline section. Here, click on My Activity.
  4. On this page, scroll until you find the specific items you want to delete. You can also do this by browsing for certain topics or by searching for dates and keywords.
  5. Once you find the item you want to delete, press More (three vertical lines) located next to it.
  6. Finally, press Delete. The item will automatically be removed.

Android

If you’re using an Android device, you can easily delete your activity, including your search history and the web pages you visited, by following these simple steps:

Deleting all activity

  1. Open the Google app on your Android device, and then tap on your profile picture (top right corner).
  2. At the top, tap your name, and then Manage Your Google Account.
  3. In the top bar, choose Data & Personalization (third option).
  4. Scroll until you find the Activity and Timeline section, and then press My Activity.
  5. Next to the search bar, tap More (three vertical lines).
  6. In the drop-down menu, tap Delete activity by.
  7. Now, choose Always to delete all activity.
  8. Finally, tap Next, followed by Delete. Your entire activity will now be cleared.

Deleting specific activity items

  1. Open the Google app on your Android device, and then tap on your profile picture (top right corner).
  2. At the top, tap your name, and then Manage Your Google Account.
  3. In the top bar, choose Data & Personalization (third option).
  4. Scroll until you find the Activity and Timeline section, and then press My Activity.
  5. On this page, scroll until you find the specific items you want to delete. You can also do this by browsing for certain topics or by searching for dates and keywords.
  6. Once you find the item you want to delete, press More (three vertical lines) located next to it.
  7. Finally, tap Delete. The item will automatically be removed.

iOS

Similarly to an Android device, you can also delete your activity on an iPhone or iPad through your Google account, by following these steps:

Deleting all activity

  1. Open the Gmail app on your iOS device.
  2. Tap on your initial or profile picture in the top right, and then press Manage Your Google Account.

Note: You can also go to myaccount.google.com if you don’t use Gmail.

  1. At the top of the screen, press on Data & Personalization.
  2. Scroll until you find the Activity and Timeline section, and then press My Activity.
  3. Next, tap More (three vertical lines) in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  4. Tap Delete activity by, and then choose Always to delete all activity.
  5. Finally, press Delete. Your entire activity will now be cleared.

Deleting specific activity items

  1. Open the Gmail app on your iOS device.
  2. Tap on your initial or profile picture in the top right, and then press Manage Your Google Account.
  3. At the top of the screen, press on Data & Personalization.
  4. Scroll until you find the Activity and Timeline section, and then press My Activity.
  5. On this page, scroll until you find the specific items you want to delete. You can also do this by browsing for certain topics or by searching for dates and keywords.
  6. Once you find the item you want to delete, press More (three vertical lines) located next to it.
  7. Finally, tap Delete. The item will automatically be removed.

As you can see, deleting your Google activity manually is a quick and simple process. However, if you don’t want Google to store your activity anymore, including your search history, you can also choose to delete activity automatically or even stop saving activity altogether, which you can also find in your Google Account settings.

advertisement