Whether you’ve accidentally posted a WhatsApp status too soon, or you’ve only just noticed something about a status which you regret posting, we’re here to help.
Whatever your reasoning for wanting to delete your WhatsApp status, the process could honestly not be simpler. To do so, simply follow our short guide below.
For additional information, and for any other queries, please see our FAQs at the end of this article.
Table of Contents
How to delete a WhatsApp status (Android/iOS)
- On your device, open up the WhatsApp application, and sign in if prompted
- Next, from the homescreen, tap the word ‘Status’ at the top of the page
- You will see a list of all the statuses which your contacts have uploaded, as well as your own status
- Tap on the three horizontal dots to the side of your status
- Next, tap on the three vertical dots next to the side of the status update you wish to delete
- From the drop-down menu, select ‘Delete’
- In the confirmation window, hit ‘Delete’ one more time
- Repeat as necessary to delete as many active status updates as you like
Congratulations! You have successfully learned how to delete a WhatsApp status.
For any additional info or queries, see the FAQs below.
Frequently asked questions
What is a WhatsApp status?
A WhatsApp status is kind of similar to a Facebook or Instagram story. In other words, it is a picture or photo which you can upload, and which lasts for only 24 hours, before being removed.
Your contacts can all see your WhatsApp status, and reply to it if they wish, provided that when uploading it you did not change the privacy settings regarding your status (for you can, if you desire, change those settings to ensure that only the people you want to see your status can see it).
You can also type statuses, making them text only, and can add filters and other cool features to picture statuses, just like on Instagram and Facebook.
Why would I want to delete a WhatsApp status?
There are any number of reasons as to why you might want to delete your WhatsApp status, but probably the most common reason is that either you’ve changed your mind, or you made a mistake when uploading the status and need to take it down.
Whatever your reasoning, we’re here to help. Just follow our step-by-step guide above to learn exactly how to delete your WhatsApp status.
What happens when I delete a WhatsApp status?
When you delete a WhatsApp status, you delete it permanently, and not only for yourself, but also for everyone on your contacts list – after a deletion, they can no longer see your status. Anyone who ‘received’ the status will now not see it, even if they were yet to access it.
Can I delete any status?
No, you can only delete your own WhatsApp statuses. Statuses posted by friends and other contacts cannot be deleted by anyone other than they.