TikTok is one of the world’s most enjoyed video-sharing social media apps, created and owned by Chinese company ByteDance. Whatever your reasoning, you’re here because you want to delete one of your own (and it must be one of your own!) videos – and TikTok doesn’t make it easy to find this function!
To delete a TikTok video from your profile, just follow these few simple steps. And for everything else, see our FAQs at the end of the article.
Table of Contents
How to delete a TikTok video from your profile (iOS or Android)
- Open up the TikTok app on your device, and if prompted, sign in
- Navigate to your Profile by tapping the Profile icon in the bottom-right of the app
- Locate the video you want to delete, and open it up by tapping on it
- Once on the chosen video, tap the Share icon (on iOS) or the three vertical dots icon (on Android)
- From the second row of options (all grey icons), scroll along to the very last option, which will be a bin-shaped ‘Delete’ button. Tap this to delete your TikTok video.
And there you have it! As simple as following the 5 steps listed above, you can clean up your TikTok profile by removing any unwanted videos. Thanks for reading. For any other information, see our FAQs below.
Frequently asked questions
What is TikTok?
TikTok is a Chinese-owned video-sharing social networking platform, which allows users to create short, creative videos, often humorous or musical in nature, which they can then upload to be seen by as many people as want to watch it, all around the world. It is fast becoming the most popular social media app of the day.
Why would I want to delete a TikTok video?
There are many reasons you might want to delete a TikTok video, and it is quite normal that you should need to seek help to do it, because TikTok doesn’t make the feature very visible. You may have uploaded something accidentally, be clearing out your profile of old or unwanted videos, want to redo an old video, or simply be embarrassed and want something taken down!
Can I recover a deleted TikTok video?
No. Once you delete a video from your TikTok profile, it is permanently deleted from the TikTok servers, and you can no longer gain access to it. However, if you have previously downloaded it to your mobile/tablet device, then you will still have the actual video file still accessible – it simply won’t be on TikTok any longer.
What happens when I delete a TikTok video?
When you delete a TikTok video from your profile, it is gone forever. It will be removed from your friends’ and followers’ feeds, as well as their saved and like lists/playlists.
Can I delete any TikTok video?
No. You can only delete TikTok videos which you have uploaded to your own profile.